top of page

Boujee on a budget; how to add luxury décor pieces to your home on a budget

Dear Diary,

Even before I created my very own beauty room, I had a million thoughts and ideas as to how I would add my own special touch to my room. I would browse the internet for inspiration and create my own mood boards on how to incorporate more mature décor into my room. Now don't get me wrong I still like to have the odd item that resonates with happy times during my childhood, but sometimes it can be a struggle with how to decorate your space with items that you love but also add that mature element with it. In this blog post, I'll be sharing with you my tips and tricks on how to create a relaxing and warm environment for you to be in by simply incorporating some pink and girly décor pieces. Enjoy. Xxx


Love Becky. Xxx

 

Fairy Lights/strip lights: There's nothing I love more than sitting in my bedroom at night, with all of my LED lights on my Pax system, watching television with a hot chocolate in my hand and burning a wax melt. It adds such a relaxing yet magical experience to the room. Strip lights have grown in popularity over the past year or two but having string fairy lights also adds the same atmosphere. If your someone who likes looking at a lot of different colours than I would recommend getting some LED strip lights around the parameter of your room, or if your like me and are happy with some simple fairy lights or LED'S, than you have this option to choose from too. Either way, I think adding lights is such a cheap option at adding some magic into your space.



 

Faux fur throws: Regardless of what the weather can get like in England, I always find myself snuggling up to a faux fur throw to help me relax and wind down from the days events. To me, there's nothing more warm and comforting than a good throw. Prices vary depending on what type of throw your getting and where your shopping at however, I always say invest in a good thick, weighted throw that will last, as these will serve you better in the long run and also look super stylish on your bed space/seating area. The one I personally have was purchased from The Range and I've included a link for you in case your interested in purchasing the same one as me.



Fluffy cushions: Staying on the theme of all things fluffy and cosy, you can't have a throw without adding a few cushions on top of it can you? I like to have quite a few cushions on my bed, my chair and even a couple around the room for décor purposes. The one thing I like about having fluffy cushions is that they add style and comfort to any area of the room and you can really get creative with how you style them too.


 

Candles/wax melts: If you follow me regularly on my Instagram, than you will know that I am a wax melt addict. (literally). Now, it took me a while to jump on the wax melt train and I kept saying to myself 'surely there not as good as what people are putting out to be?' well was I wrong, lol. I love popping a wax melt on in the evening and sitting down to relax watching some YouTube or Netflix. I have mentioned a few different brands of wax melts on my Instagram so I'll just pop a few examples of some pink, girly, small businesses that I personally love and continue to repurchase from them.


Soy divine melts: I am a brand rep for this company and you can get 10% off your order by using the code 'pinkdiaries10' at checkout. (please note: I do not get any commission for this, it is just a refer a friend code for you all to use and enjoy).


Pretty Lovely's:


Nearly November:


Pretty Wax melts:

 

Glass dome/cloche décor: This is something I wasn't aware of until I saw a small business making these on Instagram and I instantly fell in love. If you want to add that magical element to your room or incorporate a little inspiration from Beauty and the Beast than this is for you. The magic about these glass domes/cloches is that your imagination can take you anywhere with them and you can create whatever miniature scenes you want inside them. If your also a crafter like myself than you will find joy in creating your own and popping them wherever you want to display them. They will look great in so many different areas of a room and on top of furniture too such as your vanity, bookshelves or coffee bar. I've included a link to the small business which I found on Instagram for you to check out their stunning pieces:

 

Coffee Table books: After seeing slmissglam on YouTube style her home with coffee table books I was constantly adding similar items to my Amazon Wishlist in the hope of re-creating what she had achieved. Now don't get me wrong, some of them can get pretty expensive but it doesn't mean to say that you have to buy them all at once. You could even make your own if you have some old books and sticky vinyl laying around. One author and creator I like to get my books from is Meghan Hess, who focuses on a lot of chic Parisian fashion illustration, and you can't deny how classy and timeless her work is. You can find a lot of her items on Amazon.co.uk and they would also even looks fabulous with a glass cloche/dome standing on top of a couple of her books. Just like many items I've already talked about, you don't just have to have these in one specific place; you can have these on your vanity, closet space, window ledge etc. These items are one thing you didn't know you needed until you make a purchase.

 

Cute mugs: I always admire people who have the most organised, yet aesthetically pleasing mug collection. You would be surprised how popular watching mug collection videos can be. Plus, it doesn't have to break the bank to pick up some really pretty ones too. I don't have too many mugs yet (probably because I'm really particular with how mine look, lol), but the ones I do have, are really cute pieces that you want out on display and not just stored in a cupboard somewhere. If your like me and have your own designated tea/coffee/hot chocolate station, than I always like to have a pretty mug out on display that I won't use to drink out of, but to glam up the area a little more. One small business which I've talked about before is Bubble glam designs and the owner creates the most pretty mugs, tumblers and water bottles. You can also use pretty mugs to store items in such as your makeup brushes on your vanity, spoons for your coffee bar, or even one on top of some coffee table books. Having pretty mugs can be underrated but they hold so many possibilities that you would be mad to pass up on.




 

Jewellery boxes/organisers/makeup cases: You don't have to be a jewellery or makeup lover to have cute, fashionable storage on display. You can even leave them empty if need be. There is something so elegant and girly about having jewellery boxes or makeup cases out on display that it makes you appreciate the pieces that you already have. For me personally, I'm lucky enough to have a pull out tray on my IKEA PAX system that I created in 2020, so I can always pull it out and have full view of what I have. However, prior to this I did have jewellery boxes and I would have them on display on my windowsill. Regardless of what size space you have to work with, you can always find a solution to storing your accessories. If your one of those people who don't like seeing jewellery boxes out, there are many now that are made in the style of living room décor such as in mirrored boxes or velvet cases so it won't stand out too much and can blend in with the rest of the furniture of the room so your bound to find something that fits your needs.

 

Trunk storage/Ottoman: If your lucky enough to have space for both of these items, than by all means go for it, but for me it's the case of one or the other. When I posted about purchasing my pink trunk set at the bargain price of £29.99 from Home Bargains, my Instagram literally broke down due to the amount of attention and messages I was receiving from people telling me how much they were hunting down their stores to try and find them. Plus, they double up as great storage alternatives if you have a small space to work with. I think these are such fabulous pieces to have in your home and not just your bedroom and I highly recommend them to anyone.


Floral arrangements and a rose bear: Regardless if you can have flowers in your house due to reasons such as allergies or pets that might knock them over, you can now very easily incorporate floral arrangements into your home. Adding flowers to any space instantly freshens and brightens the area up in my opinion and you can change them up seasonally to match with your décor too. On the plus side, 0% gardening skills are required with faux flowers so you don't have to worry about not watering them for a month and accidentally killing them. Plus, there are many different price options out there to suit your budget, and you can even get really creative with them too by mixing and matching your bouquets to suit your tastes.


 

18147486418167394.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Hello and welcome to Pretty Pink Diaries. If you would like to know more about me than click the button below. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
bottom of page